The Women’s Safe Haven/Resource Services, Inc. resulted from the amalgamation of the Flin Flon Crisis Centre and the Northern Women’s Resource Services Inc. on March 31, 1997. It continued operating as one corporation under the name of Flin Flon/Creighton Crisis Centre Inc. until the name was officially changed to Women’s Safe Haven/Resource Services Inc. on July 13, 1998.

Mission Statement

To provide services within Flin Flon and its surrounding area that will protect and empower women and youth, without discrimination, including support, interim housing, referral, resources, information, and counselling.

Goals & Objectives

The centre is to be operated for women and their children in providing protection through interim housing, information, referrals, outreach, and supportive counselling (individual and group), and through acting as a liaison between women and other agencies, groups and government.

We wish to work towards ending violence against women and children, by providing interim housing and walk-in facility that act as a central place where women can meet, discuss issues, concerns and needs, receive support counselling and referrals to specialized services as requested. We assist women and youth to plan and implement changes toward personal growth, increased independence and empowerment in their lives through provision of individual and group counselling, outreach and referral.

The resource center will provide public awareness on women’s issues through workshops, public speaking, counselling services and resources designed to meet the needs of women in Flin Flon and it’s surrounding area. To provide safe alternatives through development and implementation of programs structured to the holistic wellness of women and their children. We work in partnership with other organizations to further address the needs and concerns of women and youth. We provide an environment that is understanding and 100% confidential.


Let’s start doing our bit for the women of our community

Board Members

  • Board President – Doreen Roman
  • Vice-President – Linda Eryou
  • Treasurer – Shelly Craig
  • Secretary – Katie Kawerski
  • Sheena Reed
  • Margaret Head-Steppan
  • Chad Cooper
  • Sheri Pearson
  • Mark Lucas


  • Executive Director – Colleen Arnold
  • Counselor – Barb Hopkinson
  • Counselor – Brodie Hooper
  • Counselor – Laurie Sealey
  • Youth Counsellor – Keely Patterson
  • Support Worker – Cheryl Hanson